• Unstuck & Upward
  • Posts
  • From Job Loss to Self-Made Success: The Year I Changed Everything

From Job Loss to Self-Made Success: The Year I Changed Everything

How losing my job became the best thing that ever happened to me.

Read Time: 2 minutes

A Year of Transformation

2020 began with a significant personal commitment—buying a house.

This step towards stability symbolized my readiness to plant roots and build a lasting foundation.

However, the sudden loss of my tech job shortly thereafter threatened to undermine this newfound stability.

This unexpected challenge marked the beginning of a pivotal year, one filled with bold decisions and critical introspections.

===

Embracing the Setback as Opportunity 

Rather than succumb to the pressures and uncertainties of job loss, I saw this as a crucial moment to fully commit to my passion for coaching.

Despite the financial risks and the burden of debt, I chose to invest heavily in myself.

I enrolled in a business coaching program, honed new skills, and underwent a personal rebranding to shift my identity toward someone capable of succeeding independently.

===

Building Networks, Building Strength

Networking became more than just a professional activity; it turned into a vital source of support and inspiration.

By connecting with like-minded individuals, I found the strength and motivation needed to push through challenges.

Each connection added to a growing support system that would prove indispensable in navigating the tumultuous times.

===

Finding Success Through Self-Belief

The hard work and dedication began to bear fruit.

The success of my coaching business and the life I've been building with my wife stand as testaments to the power of believing in oneself.

Together, we've faced highs and lows, with each hurdle serving as a stepping stone towards greater understanding and achievement.

===

Lessons Learned in Betting on Myself

The culmination of this year’s experiences, from diving deep into entrepreneurship to solidifying personal commitments, solidified a critical lesson: the importance of investing in myself.

Embracing financial risks courageously and aligning my professional pursuits with my deepest aspirations underscored that self-belief, underpinned by hard work and strong partnerships, is crucial for transforming dreams into reality.

===

A Call to Growth and Investment

As you reflect on your own journey, consider the areas where you might be holding back.

Are there skills you could develop further?

Networks you could cultivate?

Remember, investing in yourself is the most significant bet you can make.

I encourage you to take that step, to trust in your potential and build the support systems that will guide you towards your goals.

Be Blessed,

Widmarc 🌞

PS:  Whenever you're ready, I can help you in 2 ways:

1.  Book a Discovery Call. If you want personalized advice, I open my calendar to 5 people per month. Check my calendar to see if I still have availability.

2. Check out my new free guide: 5 Actionable Steps to Transform Your Passion into a Career or Side Hustle (With ChatGPT prompts). Get it here.

Tuesday’s Transformative Thoughts

"Your life does not get better by chance, it gets better by change."

- Jim Rohn